Banner for CPSchools.com -   |  Contact Us  |  ADA Site Map
   Home  



Chesapeake School Board

CPS School Board

The nine members of the Chesapeake School Board are elected to at-large seats and represent the entire city. They are elected to four-year staggered terms in May. The chairman and vice chairman are elected yearly to their positions from the entire board membership to preside over meetings and represent the board at various events and ceremonial functions. The official duties of the School Board include:
  • Instituting policy development for the school division
  • Selecting the superintendent
  • Presenting the financial needs of the school division before the City Council
  • Overseeing the construction and maintenance operations for the school division
  • Supervising the budget, awarding contracts, determining salaries, and overseeing school division accounts
  • Approving the annual school calendar and school operating times
  • Determining school boundaries
  • Monitoring the employment, placement, and promotion of school employees based on the superintendent's recommendations
School Board Members - View detailed profiles of members



In this section:


Contact Information
Chesapeake School Board
School Administration Building
312 Cedar Road
Chesapeake, VA 23322

Chairman
Mrs. Christie New Craig
2813 East Meadow Wood Drive
Chesapeake, Va 23321
757-434-3746 (C)
Email: Christie.Craig@cpschools.com

Term expires: 6/30/2018


Vice Chairman
Mr. C. Jeff Bunn
437 Rebel Road
Chesapeake, VA 23322
757-482-8781 (H)
Email: Jeff.Bunn@cpschools.com

Term Expires: 6/30/2016


Mr. Samuel L. Boone, Jr.
312 Cedar Road
Chesapeake, VA 23322
757-558-7854 (C)
Email: Samuel.Boone@cpschools.com

Term Expires: 6/30/2016


Mrs. Colleen C. Leary
306 Lambardi Court
Chesapeake, VA 23322
757-482-0104 (H)
Email: Colleen.Leary@cpschools.com

Term Expires: 6/30/2018


Mr. Thomas L. Mercer, Sr.
2637 Smithson Drive
Chesapeake, VA 23322
757-421-2777 (H)
Email: Thomas.Mercer@cpschools.com

Term Expires: 6/30/2016


Mr. Harry A. Murphy
947 Unicorn Trail
Chesapeake, VA 23322
757-439-7217 (C)
Email: Harry.Murphy@cpschools.com

Term Expires: 6/30/2018


Mrs. Victoria L. Proffitt
1001 Copper Stone Circle
Chesapeake, VA 23320
757-547-7438 (H)
Email: Victoria.Proffitt@cpschools.com

Term Expires: 6/30/2016


Mr. Louis J. Tayon, Jr.
916 Montebello Circle
Chesapeake, VA 23322
757-240-0450 (C)
Louis.Tayon@cpschools.com

Term Expires: 6/30/2018


Mr. Michael J. Woods
450 Blue Beech Way
Chesapeake, VA 23320
757-424-9500 (W)
Email: Michael.Woods@cpschools.com

Term Expires: 6/30/2018

Last modified: Fri October 03 2014 03:47:45 PM